Shortlist for the NBN Awards for Wildlife Recording 2019

Twenty-five individuals and groups have been shortlisted in the five different categories of the NBN Awards 2019.

The Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding contributions adults and young people are making to wildlife recording and data sharing, which is helping to improve our understanding of the UK’s biodiversity.

NBN Young Person’s Award

(open to individuals aged 11-20)

  • Kabir Kaul (age 14) – from Eastcote, London
  • Will Scott (age 19) – from Hunmanby, North Yorkshire
  • Michael Sinclair (age 15) – from Glasgow, Strathclyde
  • Orin Thomas (age 11) – from Kendal, Cumbria
  • Alex White (age 16) – from Appleton, Oxfordshire

NBN Newcomer Award

(open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Anne-Marie Jones and Richard Sutton – from Newcastle Under Lyme, Staffordshire
  • George Luff – from Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire
  • Cerin Poland – from Truro, Cornwall
  • Mollie Taylor – from Bournemouth, Dorset
  • Sue Taylor – from Berkhamsted, Hertfordshire

NBN Award for wildlife recording – marine

(open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Heather Buttivant – from Looe, Cornwall
  • Martin Kitching – from Choppington, Northumberland
  • Jack Lucas – from Millport, North Ayrshire
  • Jane Pottas – from Whitby, North Yorkshire
  • Dawn Watson – from Saxmundham, Suffolk

NBN Award for wildlife recording – terrestrial

(open to individuals 21 years +)

  • Ian Cheeseborough – from Shrewsbury, Shropshire
  • Ryan Clark – from Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
  • Alan Outen – from Shefford, Bedfordshire
  • Ian Wallace – from Liverpool, Merseyside
  • John Widgery – from Cheltenham, Gloucestershire

NBN Group Award

(no age restrictions)

  • Croxteth Park Volunteer Group – from Liverpool, Merseyside
  • Data for Nature Project – from Sheffield, South Yorkshire
  • Joy of Wildlife group – from Shropshire
  • The Ranger Team at Hengistbury Head – from Bournemouth, Dorset
  • Wildlife in the City – from Nottingham, Nottinghamshire


The winners of the 2019 NBN Awards for Wildlife Recording will be given their prizes at a special ceremony on Wednesday 13 November during the National Biodiversity Network’s annual conference in Nottingham.


This year we are indebted to seven organisations for their support and sponsorship of the prizes:
1. Opticron
2. Ceri Leigh
3. Field Studies Council (FSC)
4. Nature Photographers Ltd
5. British Wildlife
7. William Collins


These annual, national, awards started in 2015, and were previously known as the UK Awards for Biological Recording and Information Sharing.  They were originally developed by the National Biodiversity Network Trust, the National Forum for Biological Recording and the Biological Records Centre.

Web design by Red Paint