Dipterists Forum- The Society for the study of flies (Diptera)

Entomologists who specialise in these insects are “dipterists”. In 1993, a group of people who wanted to find out more about every aspect of their lives, including the habitats they require, set up theDipterists Forum. There is a great deal still to learn about flies. Mapping the distribution of some groups is a major achievement of the Dipterists Forum to date, but the immature stages of the majority of species are still unknown. Many species are becoming increasingly rare as a result of habitat loss and climate change.

Scope:
Flies including; Anthomyidd flies, Chironomid flies, Chloropid flies, Conopid, lonchopterid & picture-winged flies, Craneflies, Meniscus midges, Fruit flies, Emphid and dolichopodid flies, Fungus gnats, Soliderflies, horseflies, robberflies, snipleflies, stilletto-flies, bee-flies and allies, Pipunculid flies, Snail killing flies, Sepsid flies, Stilt and stalk flies, Hoverflies, Tachinid flies, Tephritid flies
Taxonomy:
Insect
Organisations:
Dipterists Forum, Affiliated to the British Entomological and Natural History Society (BENHS)
Contact:
1) Anthomyidd flies contact Mr M. Ackland at mackland@btinternet.com 2) Chironomid flies contact Dr P. Roper at patrick@prassociates.co.uk 3) Chloropid flies contact John and Barbara Ismay at schultmay@insectsrus.co.uk 4) Conopid, lonchopterid & picture-winged flies contact Mr D.K., Clements at dave.clements1@ntlworld.com 5) Craneflies contact Mr A.E. Stubbs and Me J. Kramer at alan.stubbs@buglife.org.uk and john.kramer@btinternet.com 6)Meniscus midges contact Julian Small at julian.small@naturalengland.org.uk 7) Fruit flies contact Dr B.Pitkin 8) Emphid and dolichopodid flies contact Dr Adrian Plant and Martin Drake at Adrian.Plant@museumwales.ac.uk and martindrake2@gmail.com 9) Fungus gnats contact Mr P.J. Chandler at chandgnats@aol.com 10) Soliderflies, horseflies, robberflies, snipleflies, stilletto-flies, bee-flies and allies contact Martin C. Harvey at kitenetter@googlemail.com 11) Pipunculid flies contact Mr David Gibbs at david.usia@blueyonder.co.uk 12) Snail killing flies contact Dr I.F.G Mclean and Darwyn Sumner at ianmclean@waitrose.com and darwyn.sumner@ntlworld.com 13) Sepsid flies contact Steve Crellin at steve_crellin1@hotmail.co.uk 14) Stilt and stalk flies contact Mr D. Sumner at darwyn.sumner@ntlworld.com 15) Hoverflies contact Dr S.G. Ball and Mr R.K.A Mossie at stuart.ball@dsl.pipex.com and roger.morris@dsl.pipex.com 16) Tachinid flies contact Mr Chris Raper and Matthew Smith at chris.raper@tachnidae.org.uk and MatSmith1@compuserve.com 17) Tephritid flies contact Mr L Clemons and l.clemons@ovi.com
How to take part:
Sightings can be submitted all year

Web design by Red Paint